I’m not one of those people who has a beautifully formatted blog…

  1. If you’re anything like me, you don’t have a ton of time to do your homework. Maybe you have 30 minutes to get a lot done. Maybe you multi-task too much. At any rate, if you have the time to quickly search for some articles, that’s great. Use that time. But make sure you bookmark them or print them or save them somehow because if you time out of your wmich session, then there’s no way to get back to it. What this means for me: I have at least 30 minutes of searching to do again. To find the same articles I’d pulled up just the other day. Sad, sad face.
  2. Here’s the slideshow by Dr. Ward (@DrForward) from the Tedx Kalamazoo talk he gave. Like I said before, it was amazing. I’m still thinking about how I’d implement social media in my future classroom. Of course, since I don’t have a classroom right now, there’s not much I can do. Even if I tried to think about what I’d want to do, everything will change before I have a classroom of my own again, right? http://www.dr4ward.com/dr4ward/2012/10/transforming-education-the-social-global-classroom-tedxkalamazoo-tedxkzoo-tedx-slideshow.html
  3. I’m drooling over the Prague Summer Program. I was planning on graduating in April, and I don’t need the credits at all. But man do I want to go to Prague! There’s even talk in my house about packing the entire family up and staying there for the 4 weeks together. Anyone have any ideas whether this makes sense for me to do? It’d mean pushing back graduation until December, unless for some reason I graduated and then just had these extra credits floating around. Would another school take them as transfer credits for my Ph.D.? Also, I don’t think we’d be able to afford it unless I got the Mentor Assistantship, but I’m not sure I have a clue what I’d be required to do for that or also how to apply or anything. So is the PSP a secret in the English Department? Because I hadn’t really heard much about it until I got the email from Allen saying that they were looking for MAs… http://www.praguesummer.com/index.php
  4. Since I’m doing this semester’s project on prison education, this article piqued my interest when it showed up in my Twitter feed. Shane Bauer says that solitary confinement within California prisons is worse than solitary confinement as a political prisoner in Iran. Crazy and scary. http://www.motherjones.com/politics/2012/10/solitary-confinement-shane-bauer
  5. From our talk with Chris Strayer, it disgusts me that computer programs are being used to grade writing, and high-stakes writing at that! Computers, while helpful in so many ways, cannot completely take the place of teachers. In writing, teachers need to be the ones grading! This ties in to some of the articles I’ve been reading for our lit review & annotated bib. I’ll look around for it, but one of them was a study about computer programs used as teaching tools within juvenile detention facilities. I think the program studied was FastForward. Anyway, the research showed that this particular method of teaching didn’t work for that population. I’d look for the article and get into more detail, but there’s a very cranky little girl on my lap who is fighting for my undivided attention and I have to give it to her.

I’m still fighting with formatting…

One comment

  1. I will stop by and have a chat with Shana about the Prague Program for you before I head off to teach. If you can get the opportunity to go, do so. The city is lovely although it is often like visiting the face of the sun during the summer months. Most of the classes can be applied directly with approval to programs in the English Dept. The Mentor Ass. is basically a different way of saying T.A. You go, help the instructor with leg work and paperwork while taking classes of your own. You are responsible for head counts and the like at different readings. If you are on facebook, they do have their own link. Its not that its a secret, more that it is generally focused towards creative writing students, which is odd because a few of the classes have nothing to do with creative writing. V

Leave a Reply

